Royal School

Princes' and Chiefs of rank who are eligible to the throne

By the year, 1800 A.D., Kamehameha I became the first king of all Hawai`i by conquest when he united the Hawaiian islands.  His first son, King Kamehameha II inherited the throne on May 20, 1819 followed by his second son, King Kamehameha III on June 6, 1825. King Kamehameha III created the first constitution in 1840 

and secured treaties with other nations.

In 1839, a Royal Boarding School was founded as the "Chiefs Children's School" and was built on the lot where the old barracks use to situate, in back of Iolani Palace, where the State Capital of Hawai'i now stands. The school was created by King Kamehameha III for the purpose of grooming the highest ranking chief's children of the realm to be rulers. This ensured that the Hawaiian kingdom would continue through these ali'i who were entitled to rule by rank.


King Kamehameha III called on seven boys and seven girls of his family to board in the Chiefs Children's School, and officially proclaimed them eligible for the throne under the Constitutional Laws of the Hawaiian Kingdom.

These are the royal children and future rulers that King Kamehameha III claimed eligible to the throne by Royal Decree:


1844 Order in Council of

King Kamehameha III

listing of the highest ranking ali'i who are eligible to be rulers

From the sister of Kamehameha III, selected were Princess Kinau's children, Prince Lot (became King Kamehameha V),  Princess Victoria Kamamalu, Prince Moses Kekuaiwa & Prince Alexander Liholiho (became King Kamehameha IV)


From his brother, Ali'i Pauli Kaoleioku, selected was his great granddaughter, High Chiefess Bernice Pauahi and great, great grandson, High Chief William Pitt Kina'u.


From his father's younger brother, Ali'i Keali'imaika'i, selected was his great, great granddaughter, High Chiefess Emma Na'ea Rooke and great great grandson, High Chief Peter Young Ka'eo. 


From another younger brother of his father, Ali'i Kalaimamahu, selected was his great grandson,

High Chief William Charles Lunalilo (became King Lunalilo).


From his father's eldest brother, Ali'i Kalokuokamaile selected was his 

great granddaughter, High Chiefess Elizabeth Keka'aniau La'anui.


From his grandfather's cousin, a direct line from one of the royal twins, Ali'i Kame'eiamoku and his brother, Keaweaheulu, their great great grandchildren, selected were:

High Chief David Kalakaua (became King Kalakaua),

High Chiefess Lydia Kamaka'eha (became Queen Lili`uokalani)

and High Chief James Kaliokalani.


Also from his grandfather's cousin, Kamehamehanui Ai`luau, daughters of Liliha III and Namaile were the

High Chiefess Jane Loeau Jasper and Abigail Maheha.


High Chiefess Mary Pa'a'ania was the daughter of

High Chiefess Kekela and Mr. Henry Lewis. 

After King Kamehameha III established the Constitutional Monarchy and the laws of succession, the heir to the throne was left to his nephew who became King Kamehameha IV on December 15, 1854.  Followed by his brother, King Kamehameha V who succeeded him on November 30, 1863.
After the passing of King Kamehameha V, the ali`i who were
eligible to rule was called upon by the legislature...

King Kamehameha V

Kamehameha V had not named a successor to the throne before he died on December 11, 1872.  Which in accordance to the constitution, enabled the first election of the legislature to vote for an ali`i.  The candidates were those of the highest rank who were proclaimed eligible to the throne by Kamehameha III and was groomed to be a ruler at the Chief's Children's School.  Ali`i William Charles Lunalilo was elected and he became king on January 9, 1873.  

After the passing of King Lunalilo, the ali`i who were eligible to rule was called upon again by the legislature...

King Lunalilo

King Lunalilo also did not name a successor to the throne before he died on February 3, 1874.  Which in accordance to the constitution, enabled the second election of the legislature to vote again for an ali`i.  The candidates again were those of the highest rank who were proclaimed eligible to the throne by Kamehameha III and was groomed to be a ruler at the Chief's Children's School.  Ali`i David Kalakaua was elected and he became king on February 12, 1874.  His legal heir to the throne was his sister, Princess Lili`uokalani who succeeded him on January 29, 1891 and reigned until the illegal overthrow in 1893.  Queen Lili'uokalani's only legal heir to the throne was her niece, Princess Ka`iulani who died childless in 1899.  Queen Lili`uokalani was the sovereign under an illegal occupation of the Hawaiian kingdom until her death on November 11, 1917, ending the Kalakaua dynastic line of succession.


King David Kalakaua


Queen Lili`uokalani

High Chiefess, Elizabeth Keka`aniau La`anui

Head of the Royal House of Hawai`i

After the passing of Queen Lili`uokalani in 1917, her cousin, the High Chiefess Elizabeth Keka`aniau La`anui was the hereditary head of the royal house and the sole survivor of the ali`i who were groomed to be a ruler at the Chiefs Children's School and officially proclaimed eligible to the throne by Kamehameha III.    


Upon the empty throne in 1917, the Hawaiian kingdom's constitution would enable to elect an ali`i by the legislature.  The only ali`i eligible to the throne in 1917 is the High Chiefess Elizabeth Keka`aniau La`anui, since there is no legislature because of the overthrow, she publicly proclaimed her sovereign rights as the head of the royal house. Under a deposed kingdom, it is her natural right under international law to continue the head of the royal house prerogatives as the sovereign

of the Hawaiian kingdom under an illegal occupation,

("de jure", "fons honorum" of the royal house of Hawai`i).

Today, the "de jure" and "fons honorum" of the royal house of Hawai`i has been passed down following the primogeniture rights from generation to generation of

HRH Princess Elizabeth Keka`aniau La`anui to the present head of the royal house, 

HRH Princess Owana Ka`ohelelani La`anui Salazar.  

Queen Lili`uokalani & Princess Elizabeth Keka`aniau unveiled this tablet together when it was installed in the historic Kawaiaha`o Church on March 17, 1912.  They were the last two of these royal members 

The Plaque at the entrance of Kawaiaha`o Church with the listing of the royal children who were eligible to the throne. 

Kawaiaha`o Church was the church of the chiefs in the early 1800.  The royal pews of the church was built for these ali`i children when they used to attend Sunday services.  They would enter the church in a procession with their paired royal partners to the pews where they sat with the king:

 First was Moses Kekuaiwa and Jane Loeau, next was Lot Kapuaiwa and Bernice Pauahi, then Alexander Liholiho with Abigail Maheha, followed by William Lunalilo and Emma Rooke, then came James Kaliokalani and Elizabeth Kekaaniau, after was David Kamehameha and Victoria Kamamalu, Peter Kaeo and Mary Paaaina, then John Pitt Kinau and Lydia Kamakaeha was the last to enter.

Drawing of the courtyard of the original Chief's Children's School as described by 

Princess Elizabeth Keka'aniau La'anui

The lantern was given by Mataio Kekuanao'a and was lit from dusk to dawn

Amos Star Cooke

Instructor of the

royal children